Question: How many zones are there in India?

The states of India have been grouped into six zones having an Advisory Council “to develop the habit of cooperative working” among these States.

How many zones are in India?

Looking at the zonal map of India, you can check that India is divided into six zones namely North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone, Central Zone and North East Zone. All these zones include 28 states and 8 union territories. Each zone is comprised of certain number of states and union territories.

What are the regions of India?

When choosing where to visit, it’s easiest to divide the country into distinct regions: North, West, South, East & Northeast, and Central India.

How is India divided into regions?

On the basis of its physiography, India is divided into ten regions: the Indo-Gangetic Plain, the northern mountains of the Himalayas, the Central Highlands, the Deccan or Peninsular Plateau, the East Coast (Coromandel Coast in the south), the West Coast (Konkan, Kankara, and Malabar coasts), the Great Indian Desert (a …

THIS IS FUN:  How has Hinduism survived?

In which zone is India situated?

India is situated north of the equator between 8°4′ north to 37°6′ north latitude and 68°7′ east to 97°25′ east longitude. It is the seventh-largest country in the world, with a total area of 3,287,263 square kilometres (1,269,219 sq mi).

Geography of India.

Continent Asia
Exclusive economic zone 2,305,143 km2 (890,021 sq mi)

How many zones are there in Indian railway 2021?

Currently (as of 2021) there are 18 Railway zones in India.

How many zones are there in Indian railway 2020?

There are a total of 19 zones (including Metro Railway, Kolkata) and 70 Divisions on Indian Railway System. Each of the divisions is headed by a Divisional Railway Manager (DRM), who reports to the General Manager (GM) of the zone.

What are the 6 geographic regions of India?

The physical features of India can be divided into six categories, depending on their geological features:

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • Indian Desert.
  • Peninsular Plateau.
  • Coastal Plains.
  • Islands.

How many regions are in North India?

The northern region is among the largest regions in India comprising eight states — Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh and UT Chandigarh.

How many provinces are there in India?

A province is an administrative division. Provinces were divided into three groups (central, eastern and western) based on their economic development and geographic location. Of the 22 provinces, 10 are classified as central, eight as eastern and four as western.

What are the boundaries of India?

Land borders of India

THIS IS FUN:  What is the official name of India?
Land Border Country Length (m) and (mi) Comments
Bhutan 578 kilometres (359 mi) Open border
China 3,488 kilometres (2,167 mi) Also see McMahon Line.
Myanmar 1,643 kilometres (1,021 mi) Also see India-Myanmar barrier
Nepal 1,752 kilometres (1,089 mi) Open border.

What are the 5 geographic regions of India?

Geographical regions

  • The northern mountains including the Himalayas and the northeast mountain ranges.
  • Indo-Gangetic plains.
  • Thar Desert.
  • Central Highlands and Deccan Plateau.
  • East Coast.
  • West Coast.
  • Bordering seas and islands.

What are different geographical zones of India?

India has been devided into ten recognizable biogeographic zones as follows:

  • Trans-Himalayan Region.
  • Himalayan Zone.
  • Indian Desert Zone.
  • Semi Arid Region.
  • Western Ghats.
  • Deccan Plateau.
  • Gangetic Plain.
  • North East Region.

How many coastline are there in India?

India has a coastline of 7516.6 km– 5422.6 km of mainland coastline and 2094 km of island territories.

Arfa Javaid.

Coastal Data
Length of Coastline 7516.6 km
Total Land Area 3,287,263 km2
Area of the continental shelf 372,424 km2
Territorial sea (up to 12 nautical miles) 193,834 km2

What is heat zone?

Heat zones are defined as the different zones of the earth, where the sun’s rays fall differently, hence causing different climate patterns because of variation in the heat generated. … The three heat zones of the Earth are the Torrid Zone, Temperate Zone, and Frigid Zone.

Is India in torrid zone?

Is India in the torrid zone completely? Ans: The southern part of India is located in the torrid zone such as Karla, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh are the states located in the torrid zone whereas the upper half of India is located in the north temperate zone.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: Is India a half continent?