What were the two precursors of Indian National Congress?

Before the Congress there existed two main national parties that can be regarded as the precursors of the Indian National Congress. They are the Indian Association founded in 1876 and the Indian National Conference founded in 1883.

What was the precursor of the Indian National Congress?

Indian National Conference refers to a series of conference sessions generally considered to be the predecessor of Indian National Congress. Surendranath Banerjee and Anandamohan Bose were its main organisers.

Who were the founders of the two associations?

1. Indian National Association in 1876, was founded by ‘Surendranath Banerjee’ and ‘Anand Mohan Bose’. 2. Bombay Presidency Association in 1852 was founded by Jamshed Jejibhai, Naoroji Fursungi, Dadabhai Naoroji.

THIS IS FUN:  Does snowfall occur in India?

What are the two factions of Indian National Congress?

Congress “extremist” Bal Gangadhar Tilak speaking in 1907 as the Party split into moderates and extremists.

What were the two main objectives of the Indian Association?

The objectives of the Indian Association included:

  • Creation of a strong body of public opinion.
  • Integration of Indian people on the basis of common political interests.
  • Promotion of friendly relations between Hindus and Muslims.
  • Mass participation in public movement.

When was Indian National Congress established?

On 28 December 1885, the Indian National Congress was founded at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Bombay, with 72 delegates in attendance. Hume assumed office as the General Secretary, and Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was elected president.

Who were the presidents of the first two sessions of the Indian National Congress?

The founding years (1885–1900)

No. Year(s) of Presidency Name
1 1885 Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
2 1886 Dadabhai Naoroji
3 1887 Badruddin Tyabji
4 1888 George Yule

Who were the early leaders of Indian National Congress?

Early Nationalists

Indian National Congress
Leader W.C. Bonnerjee Rash Behari Ghosh Moderates Surendranath Banerjee R. C. Dutt Dadabhai Naoroji Gopal Krishna Gokhale Pherozeshah Mehta Justice M.G.Ranade P. R. Naidu S. Subramanian Iyer Ananda Charlu Madan Mohan Malaviya A.O. Hume William Wedderburn
Founder A.O. Hume

Who was the founder of the Indian Association?

The association was founded in Bengal in 1876 by Surendranath Banerjea and Ananda Mohan Bose; it soon displaced the Indian League, which had been founded the year before, and rivaled the long-standing British Indian Association, which it regarded as a reactionary body of landlords and industrialists.

THIS IS FUN:  Question: Can Indian buy shares Nasdaq?

What is the nature of the political association formed before the Indian National Congress was established?

Prior to Indian National Association, there was no political organisation in Bengal that represented the interest of the middle class and the raiyats. The Association gave the young middle-class community a political platform on a more democratic basis.

Which two parties emerged after the Congress split in 1969?

List of breakaway parties

Year Party Status
1969 Indian National Congress (Organisation) defunct merged with Janata Party
1969 Utkal Congress defunct merged with Janata Party
1969 Telangana Praja Samithi defunct merged with INC
1971 Biplobi Bangla Congress active part of the Left Front (West Bengal)

How was Congress o different from Congress r?

The Indian National Congress (Organisation) or Congress (O) was a political party in India formed when the Congress party split following the expulsion of Indira Gandhi. … The party finally split with Indira Gandhi setting up a rival organization, which came to be known as Congress (R).

Which faction of the Congress did Gopal Krishna Gokhale belong to?

Through the Society as well as the Congress and other legislative bodies he served in, Gokhale campaigned for Indian self-rule and for social reforms. He was the leader of the moderate faction of the Congress party that advocated reforms by working with existing government institutions.

What are the three objectives of Indian National Congress?

Three objectives of the Indian national Congress

  • To promote friendly relation between nationalist of political workers from different part of country.
  • To formulate popular demand and to present them before government.
  • To train and organise public opinion in the county.
THIS IS FUN:  Which country food is similar to Indian food?

When was the Indian National Congress established who presided over its first session?

The Indian National Congress was established and had its first session in December 1885 and it was presided over by W.C. Bonnerjee.

When and by whom was the Indian Association founded what were its objectives?

The Indian Association was the first avowed nationalist organization founded in British India by Surendranath Banerjee and Ananda Mohan Bose in 1876. The objectives of this Association were “promoting by every legitimate means the political, intellectual and material advancement of the people”.