What is a main physical feature of the Indian subcontinent?

What are some of the famous physical features of India?


  • Beaches. There are some beautiful beaches in India, the most popular of which are found in Goa and Kerala. …
  • Backwaters in Kerala. …
  • Himalayas. …
  • National Parks. …
  • Thar Desert in Rajasthan. …
  • River Ganges.

What are the 4 main physical features?

Mountains, plains, plateaus, and hills are the four major landforms. However, there are numerous minor ones, such as canyons, valleys, caves, and buttes. For example, The Mariana Trench in the Pacific Ocean is the deepest landform, at nearly 7 miles below sea level.

What are the major physical features of India Class 6?

What are the main physical divisions of India?

  • The Great Mountains of the north.
  • The north Indian plain.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The coastal plains.
  • The Islands.

What are the physical features of India explain any two?

This mountain range can be divided into three smaller ranges, namely, the Himachal range, the Shiwaliks, and the Himadri range. The Northern Indian Plains (Flat region containing highly fertile soil): The northern Indian plains are made up of an extremely vast stretch of plains, alluvial terrain.

THIS IS FUN:  How do you lay an Indian stone flag?

What are some main physical features?

Physical features include landforms, bodies of water, climate, natural vegetation and soil.

What are 5 major physical features?

Landforms include hills, mountains, plateaus, canyons, and valleys, as well as shoreline features such as bays, peninsulas, and seas, including submerged features such as mid-ocean ridges, volcanoes, and the great ocean basins.

What are 5 physical features?

They include land forms, bodies of water, climate, soils, natural vegetation, and animal life.

What are the 7 physical features of India?

Physical features of india

  • The Himalayan Mountains. These mountain ranges run in a west-east direction from the Indus to the Brahmaputra. …
  • The Northern Plains. …
  • The Peninsular Plateau. …
  • The Indian Desert. …
  • The Coastal Plains. …
  • The Islands.

Which are the physical division of Indian subcontinent?

The Indian subcontinent has three physiographic components: the Himalayas in the north, the Indo-Gangetic Alluvial Plain in the middle and the Peninsula of Precambrian rocks with younger cover in the south.

Why is India called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

How many physical features of India are there?

On the basis of physical features,India can be divided into following six divisions The Northern mountains 2. The Northern Plains 3. The Indian Desert 4. The Peninsular Plateau 5.

What are 3 physical features?

There are three types of physical features: living, nonliving and artificial.

THIS IS FUN:  Who is a person resident outside India?

What are the main physical features of the Deccan plateau?

The plateau is bounded on the east and west by the Ghats, while its northern extremity is the Vindhya Range. The Deccan’s average elevation is about 2,000 feet (600 m), sloping generally eastward; its principal rivers, the Godavari, Krishna, and Kaveri, flow from the Western Ghats eastward to the Bay of Bengal.